Skip to content

this is the night, what it does to you

July 13, 2010

it is precisely because i have so many stories to tell that i have said nothing at all
(dear iceland, i am sorry i have kept you all to myself. you are so lovely and enchanting and deserve to be shared).

and because there is so much i want to do that i have done nothing at all
(dear words and various cameras and projects floating around in my head… you scare me. what if i don’t live up to your expectations?)

if you only knew how many times i’ve sat down to write or upload photos
and instead have spun myself into a tight cocoon or found ingenious ways to procrastinate
my unrealistic goal of perfection stopping me dead in my tracks, time and again

it is raining tonight. the air itself is liquid
the rain doesn’t wait for the night to be perfect to fall
it does so because it gets too heavy and it has no other choice but to let go
and so. i too am letting go.

i like too many things and get all confused and hung-up running from one falling star to another till i drop. this is the night, what it does to you. i had nothing to offer anybody except my own confusion.” – jack kerouac

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 11:18 pm

    Wow. This is letting go??? You are amazing! I am in love with your words. Especially this poem:

    “it is raining tonight. the air itself is liquid
    the rain doesn’t wait for the night to be perfect to fall
    it does so because it gets too heavy and it has no other choice but to let go
    and so. i am letting go.”

    Beautiful.

  2. July 13, 2010 11:35 pm

    me too, me too. xo

  3. July 14, 2010 2:48 am

    That Jack Kerouac quote is fantastic – it speaks loudly to me and about me! “i like too many things and get all confused… ”

    I hear you in so many ways. Too many thoughts, dreams, ideas, things to crack on and do, but somehow you grind to a halt and do nothing. That is me right now. Procrastination is my middle name.

    And I love that red bike in your photo – I’m trying to find one just like that!

  4. July 14, 2010 3:18 am

    superbe…

    (i know the feeling)

  5. Alison permalink
    July 14, 2010 5:28 am

    JUST DO IT!

  6. July 14, 2010 6:17 am

    Exactly…

  7. July 14, 2010 7:18 am

    beautiful

  8. July 14, 2010 8:22 am

    follow your bliss and write your heart.

    and keep posting beautiful shots like these.

  9. July 14, 2010 9:52 am

    These photos made my heart do a little flitter-flutter. SO GORGEOUS!!!

  10. July 14, 2010 10:38 am

    love.
    this.

    entiendo.

  11. July 14, 2010 1:59 pm

    This is precisely why the last post on my blog was dated May 31. I suddenly became paralyzed by too many things, too many ideas, and not being about to do them well, so I did nothing. You are not alone in this, my friend. Maybe you handle it better than I have.

  12. July 14, 2010 4:25 pm

    i fucking love you.
    that’s pretty much it.

  13. July 14, 2010 4:41 pm

    Beautiful photos. Beautiful words.

    Wish I could let go as well. *sigh*

  14. July 14, 2010 9:20 pm

    Wow….. You said it…… Perfectly 🙂

  15. Ashley Erin permalink
    July 14, 2010 9:34 pm

    Your words here ring so true in my heart. Thank you so much for sharing them.

  16. July 14, 2010 11:51 pm

    beautiful beautiful you…

  17. July 15, 2010 7:14 am

    Just stumbled across your blog from {my typography} and.. I love it! Your photos and words are delightful. Following you now.. Keep it up 🙂 Great great stuff

  18. July 17, 2010 4:16 pm

    Let go more often, my dear.

  19. July 18, 2010 8:27 am

    So lush…the green, the words. Alive.

  20. July 18, 2010 8:18 pm

    What a stunning blog – so glad I stumbled upon you via Kootenay Bliss!

  21. July 23, 2010 12:30 pm

    This set is beautiful and your words match it perfectly.

  22. July 28, 2010 6:18 pm

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I can’t even tell you how well I know that feeling – when you feel like you could burst you have so much to say, yet don’t even know where to begin at the same time or fear that it just won’t be a proper portrayal or truly adequate… Even though in the end those are silly fears since we live for ourselves and the rest comes after *

Trackbacks

  1. Belated Saturday Snippets «

Penny for your thoughts?